参与机构

由清华大学美术学院及怕森斯设计学院(纽约)联合主办

清华大学普适计算实验室

清华大学神经工程研究所

清华大学神经工程研究所成立于2004年,是清华大学生物医学研究所的一个组成部分,同时也隶属于清华大学医学院生物医学工程系。神经工程专业是介于神经科学和工程学之间的一个研究领域,该研究所主要为神经科学研究提供跨学科技术平台,并为临床诊断和治疗神经问题提供创新型方法。

该研究所的主要研究领域包括脑机界面、功能型人脑想象和神经信息解码等。

麻省理工学院媒体实验室/麻省理工学院未来公民媒体中心(美国)

麻省理工学院媒体实验室通过非正统的研究方法,探寻日新月异的技术给日常生活带来的影响。技术从根本上改变了人类能力的最基本定义。不受传统学科的限制,实验室的设计师、工程师、艺术家和科学家组成了30个研究小组,完成了400多个项目,其中包括神经工程、如何帮助孩子学习、发展未来的城市汽车等。实验室的研究员们通过实践形成一种独特的学习氛围和文化,开发适用于所有社会、所有年龄人群的技术,为他们自己和他们的社区设计和发掘新的可能性。

麻省理工学院未来公民媒体中心开发创新型的公民媒体手段和实践,并在社区对其加以检验。通过麻省理工学院的两个项目:一个是开发未来科技项目,一个是探索媒体变化所带来的文化和社会潜在影响项目,麻省理工学院媒体实验室和麻省理工学院比较媒体研究项目展开密切合作,成立了麻省理工学院未来媒体中心。该中心得到了骑士基金会为期四年的赞助。

麻省理工学院艺术、文化和技术项目(美国)

麻省理工学院视觉艺术项目和高级视觉研究中心由于双方共同的方法、哲学和目标联合在一起,从而形成了麻省理工学院艺术、文化和技术项目,该项目已经成为一所国际顶级的对艺术、科学和技术进行研究、教学、实践的中心。

麻省理工学院艺术、文化和科技项目是批判的产物。作为麻省理工学院的一个技术机构,该项目实验室以教育为基础,侧重于艺术研究、高级视觉研究和跨学科合作。该项目是对知识产品进行的艺术实践。其重点在于探寻文化和艺术实践如何批判性地将科学技术加以结合,并对这种转变加以展望。麻省理工学院艺术、文化和科技项目的课程包括:空间产品、疑问设计、网络文化和当代策展实践等等。

麻省理工学院艺术、文化和科技项目的教师活跃于国际舞台,并对跨学科问题、研究和制作模式拥有浓厚的兴趣。

麻省理工学院艺术、文化和科技项目的研究人员和附属机构长时间以来从事艺术、科学和技术方面的研究,分别来自于“疑问设计小组”、“移动行为实验室”、“艺术研究和跨学科合作”,“未来身体构造/多感官”等机构。

麻省理工学院艺术、文化和科技项目每周举办一次讲座,演讲者是来自不同学科的艺术家、城市主义者或学者。

林兹电子艺术节未来实验室(奥地利)

从成立之初,电子艺术节就侧重于探索艺术、技术和社会之间的关系和相互作用,阐述种关系的未来状况并对其加以利用,成为电子艺术节未来实验室的重要使命。

V2实验室(荷兰)

V2实验室是一个进行艺术研究和开发的地方。V2实验室开发与艺术和文化相关的技术。在可能的情况下,这些研究将出版并作为公共资源加以使用。在V2实验室的项目中,艺术家、技术人员和科学家一起工作,共同为特定的艺术作品开发技术支持。另外,V2实验室为从事新技术的艺术家提供技术支持。艺术家驻地项目是实现这一目的的重要方式。

马德里普拉多媒体实验室(西班牙)

马德里普拉多媒体实验室是马德里市政府艺术部门的一个项目,旨在制作、研究和宣传数字文化以及与艺术、科学、技术和社会相交叉的领域。

马德里普拉多媒体实验室也承办会议、研讨会、项目展览、音乐会、讲座等项目。所有的活动都免费向公众开放。

六边形研究所(加拿大)

蒙特利尔六边形研究所是加拿大最大的新媒体艺术与设计实验室,其对新媒体艺术、设计和交互行为和技术的跨学科研究成为加拿大的支柱产业并享誉国际。

六边形研究所成立于2001年,为康考迪亚大学和魁北克大学的新媒体艺术和设计研究人员提供设备、资源以及基础设施管理方面的服务。目前研究所部分研究人员也来自蒙特利尔大学和麦吉尔大学。目前六边形研究所有80多名研究人员,400多名研究生已经使用过他们的研究项目资源。

瑞士洛桑联邦理工学院媒体与设计实验室(瑞士)

媒体与设计实验室是一所进行跨学科研究的实验室,用于测试数字化对建筑和现代城市的影响。媒体与设计实验室坐落在瑞士洛桑联邦理工学院建筑、城市和环境工程学院和计算机与传播科学学院之间,其目的是在当今世界数字技术已经渗透到各个领域的背景下,开发数字设计程序,研究或创造新建筑(实体或模拟)。

Eyebeam艺术与技术中心(美国)

Eyebeam艺术与技术中心成立于1996年,其向公众介绍新型的技术和媒体艺术,刺激和展示新媒体的发展,使之成为文化发展的重要衍生物。

从成立之日起,Eyebeam艺术与技术中心为艺术家和创新型的技术人员提供了130多个职位和驻地项目,并为青少年、艺术家的职业发展以及社区服务提供丰富多彩的教育项目。该中心还在最近几年里完成了一系列的公共项目,其中包括每年举办四项展览和40个workshop、表演和大型盛会等。

ZKM艺术与媒体技术中心(德国)

作为一个文化机构,位于德国卡尔斯鲁厄市的艺术和媒体中心(ZKM)在世界上占据着特殊的地位。它是在信息技术快速发展以及社会结构不断变化的背景下成立的。该机构集创作、研究、展览、聚会、合作等性质于一身。

ZKM艺术与媒体技术中心成立于1990年,正式开幕在1997年10月,位在德国西南部卡斯鲁尔(Karlsruhe)废置的兵工厂址,一方面保留大部分原建筑风貌,一方面也融合了建筑大师Rem Koolhaas立方体玻璃建筑。它的宗旨是野心勃勃的想创建一个机构,一个结合艺术与科技的大实验室与媒体城,一个将掀起新视觉运动的“新包浩斯”。

为了发展跨学科项目,促进国际间的合作,艺术和媒体中心聚集了现代艺术博物馆、媒体博物馆、视觉媒体研究所、音乐和听觉研究所以及媒体、教育和经济研究所等众多资源。

 

Blast理论(英国)

Blast理论是世界著名的艺术家团体,最具有冒险精神的艺术家们运用交互媒体创作出创新型的表演模式和交互艺术,通过网络、实时表演和数字播放等方式将观众们联系起来。在麦特·亚当斯、裘·罗·法尔和尼克·坦达维尼特耶的带领下,该组织致力于探索交互行为以及技术的社会和政治特性。在这个由媒体充斥的世界中,大众文化规则通过表演、装置、音像、移动和在线技术等方式揭示信息包含的意识形态问题。

共生体A(澳大利亚)

共生体A是从事生命科学研究的艺术实验室,是第一所完整的对生物艺术(bioart)进行研究的机构,其宗旨是使艺术家能够更容易的在生物领域进行艺术创作。他们鼓励艺术家利用科学技术完成他们的跨学科创作,使观念不只是停留在纸面上,而是探讨其实施的可能性。

“共生体A”小组对三种研究很感兴趣:首先,艺术是暧昧的,界限模糊的;其次,科学是开放式的;另外就是科技的重要性。他们使用的是界限模糊的、开放式的研究方式,这种方式可以使差异表现出来,同时也可以使这些工作向不同的方向发展。

“共生体A”主要的工作是研究而不是应用,其作品用艺术的方式展现出来。他们的研究是持续进行的,“共生体A”通过以下的工作来进行研讨和教育:赞助研究小组,例如组织工程艺术工场;也赞助个别的研究人员;也有研究所的课程,如生物研究所,本科和生物研究室。其致力于怎样用当代的生物科技来做艺术,也是全球唯一支持展示生物学艺术的机构。

合成美学研究中心,斯坦福大学/爱丁堡大学(美国/英国)

合成美学旨在将实践者和研究、分析和设计合成/自然界面的合成生物学机构联合在一起,帮助设计、理解和建构现有的世界。合成美学有12个驻地项目,艺术家和设计师们将有机会在生物工程实验室工作,科学家和工程师们也得到在艺术和设计工作室工作的机会。我们相信这种交流将促生新作品的出现。

 

南洋理工大学交互和娱乐研究中心

南洋理工大学交互和娱乐研究中心是南洋理工大学新成立的一个校级研究中心,旨在在大学不同院系之间、政府和行业伙伴之间开展跨学科之间的合作。该中心侧重于交互美术、有形和混合媒体、娱乐机器人学,增强现实、动画、游戏、教育/培训和仿生学等领域。


Page last updated on 二月 22, 2013 at 3:25 下午

Participating Institutions

Co-organized by The Academy of Arts & Design of Tsinghua University (Beijing) and Parsons the New School for Design (New York).

Pervasive Computing Lab, Tsinghua University( CN)

Institute of Neural Engineering Tsinghua University (CN)

The Institute of Neural Engineering, established in 2004, is part of the Institutes of Biomedicine and also in the Department of Biomedical Engineering, School of Medicine, Tsinghua University.

Neural Engineering is an area of research at the interface between neuroscience and engineering. The mission of the institute is to establish an interdisciplinary technical platform for neuroscience research and to provide novel solutions for clinical diagnosis and treatment in neurology.

The main research areas of the institute are brain-computer Interface, functional brain imaging, neural information decoding, etc.

MIT Media Lab | MIT Center for Future Civic Media (US)

The MIT Media Lab applies an unorthodox research approach to envision the impact of emerging technologies on everyday life—technologies that promise to fundamentally transform our most basic notions of human capabilities. Unconstrained by traditional disciplines, Lab designers, engineers, artists, and scientists work atelier-style in close to 30 research groups conducting more than 400 projects that range from neuroengineering, to how children learn, to developing the city car of the future. Lab researchers foster a unique culture of learning by doing, developing technologies that empower people of all ages, from all walks of life, in all societies, to design and invent new possibilities for themselves and their communities.

The Center for Future Civic Media supports research at MIT to innovate civic media tools and practices and test them in communities. Bridging two established programs at MIT—one known for inventing alternate technical futures, the other for identifying the cultural and social potential of media change—the Center for Future Civic Media is a joint effort between the MIT Media Lab and the MIT Comparative Media Studies Program. It is made possible by a four-year grant from the Knight Foundation.

MIT Program in Art, Culture and Technology (US)

The merger of the MIT Visual Arts Program with the Center for Advanced Visual Studies unites two entities long allied in approach, philosophy and purpose and creates the potential for the MIT Program in Art, Culture and Technology (ACT) to become a leading international center for research, education, and practical exploration in art, science, and technology.

MIT Program in Art, Culture and Technology operates as a critical production- and education-based laboratory focusing on artistic research, advanced visual studies, and transdisciplinary collaboration within the context of MIT’s technological community. The program considers artistic practice to be knowledge production. The emphasis is on how cultural and artistic practices critically engage science and technology and envision their transformation. ACT curriculum includes courses in “Production of Space,” “Interrogative Design,” “Networked Cultures,” and “Contemporary Curatorial Practice,” among others.

ACT Faculty are world-renowned with active, international careers and a strong interest in cross-disciplinary debate, research, and modes of production.

ACT research fellows and affiliates engage with students and faculty on long term thematic research clusters in the field of art, culture and technology, such as “Interrogative Design Group.” “Mobile act lab,” “Artistic research and transdisciplinary collaboration,” and “Future of Body/Multiple Senses” to name a few

ACT hosts a weekly lecture series of artists, urbanists, and scholars from a broad range of disciplines.

Ars Electronica | Future Lab (AT)

Since its very inception, Ars Electronica’s focus has been on the tension and interplay at the nexus of art, technology and society. Formulating and implementing the future manifestations of this interaction is the chosen mission of the Ars Electronica Futurelab.

V2_Lab (NL)

V2_Lab is a place for artistic research and development (aRt&D). V2_Lab develops generic technical solutions that are relevant to the fields of art and culture. The results are published and made available under open-source licenses whenever possible. In V2_ projects, artists, technicians and scientists work together to develop technology for specific artworks. Additionally, V2_Lab offers technical and productional support to artists working with new technologies. An artist-in-residence program is one means of achieving this.

Media Lab Prado Madrid (SP)

Medialab-Prado is a program of the Department of Arts of the City Council of Madrid, aimed at the production, research, and dissemination of digital culture and of the area where art, science, technology, and society intersect.

Many workshops for the production of projects, conferences, seminars, encounters, project exhibition, concerts, presentations, etc. take place in its versatile space. All activities are free and open to the general public.

The Hexagram Institute (CA)

The Hexagram Institute is the largest arts and design based new media lab in Canada and is recognized internationally as the Canadian pole for interdisciplinary research in new media art, design, and interactive performance and technologies.

Established in 2001 to provide state-of-the-art equipment, resources and management infrastructure to new media art and design researchers principally at Concordia University and the Université du Québec à Montréal (UQÀM), the Institute now includes researchers from the Université de Montréal and McGill University.

More than 80 researchers are currently members of Hexagram and over 400 graduate students have used the resources in their research projects.

Media x Design Laboratory EFPL (CH)

The Media x Design Laboratory is an interdisciplinary research laboratory that examines the effects of digitalization on architecture and contemporary cities. Located between the School of Architecture, Civil and Environmental Engineering (ENAC), and the School of Computer and Communication Science (I&C) of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne(EPFL or ETH), its objectives are the development of data-driven, digital design processes, and the study and invention of new (physical and virtual) architectures for a world where digital technologies have become pervasive.

Eyebeam | Center for Art and Technology (US)

Eyebeam is the leading not-for-profit art and technology center in the United States.

Founded in 1996 and incorporated in 1997, Eyebeam was conceived as a non-profit art and technology center dedicated to exposing broad and diverse audiences to new technologies and media arts, while simultaneously establishing and demonstrating new media as a significant genre of cultural production.

Since then, Eyebeam has supported more than 130 fellowships and residencies for artists and creative technologists; we’ve run an active education program for youth, artists’ professional development and community outreach; and have mounted an extensive series of public programs, over recent years approximately 4 exhibitions and 40 workshops, performances and events annually.

ZKM | Center for Art and Media Technology (DE)

As a cultural institution, the Center for Art and Media (ZKM) in Karlsruhe holds a unique position in the world. It responds to the rapid developments in information technology and today’s changing social structures. Its work combines production and research, exhibitions and events, coordination and documentation.

For the development of interdisciplinary projects and promotion of international collaborations, the Center for Art and Media has manifold resources at its disposal: the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Media Museum, the Institute for Visual Media, the Institute for Music and Acoustics and the Institute for Media, Education, and Economics.

Blast Theory (UK)

Blast Theory is renowned internationally as one of the most adventurous artists’ groups using interactive media, creating groundbreaking new forms of performance and interactive art that mixes audiences across the internet, live performance and digital broadcasting. Led by Matt Adams, Ju Row Farr and Nick Tandavanitj, the group’s work explores interactivity and the social and political aspects of technology. It confronts a media saturated world in which popular culture rules, using performance, installation, video, mobile and online technologies to ask questions about the ideologies present in the information that envelops us.

SymbioticA(AU)

SymbioticA, The Centre of Excellence in Biological Arts, is uniquely situated to allow hands-on Artistic research with the life sciences .Based at The School of Anatomy & Human Biology, The University of Western Australia, SymbioticA is the world’s first artistic research facility within a biological science department. The focus on experiential engagement with life led SymbioticA to develop programs that would allow artists and designers access to labs and techniques usually reserved only to scientists and engineers. These programs include residencies, workshops, academic courses and public engagement through exhibitions and forums.  Projects researched at SymbioticA range from the molecular to the ecosystem and anything in between.
SymbioticA sets out to provide a situation where interdisciplinary research and other knowledge and concept generating activities can take place.  It provides an opportunity for researchers to pursue curiosity-based explorations free of the demands and constraints associated with the current culture of scientific research while still complying with regulations.  SymbioticA also offers a new means of artistic inquiry, one in which artists actively use the tools and technologies of science, not just to comment about them, but also to explore their possibilities.
SymbioticA won the inaugural Golden Nica in Hybrid Arts at Prix Ars Electronica.

Synthetic Aesthetics, Stanford University & The University of Edinburgh (USA / UK)

Synthetic Aesthetics aims to bring creative practitioners and those who are expert at studying, analysing and designing the synthetic/natural interface together with the existing synthetic biology community to help with the work of designing, understanding and building the living world. We will organize 12 embedded residencies, during which artists and designers will spend time in bioengineering laboratories, and scientists and engineers in artistic and design studios and workspaces. It is our intention that balanced exchanges will foster exciting and productive work.

IERC, Nanyang Technological University

The Interaction and Entertainment Research Centre is a University Level
Research Centre of the Nanyang Technological University. IERC is a new
centre dedicated to creative cross-disiplinary collaborations between
various university departments, as well as with government and industry
partners.

Areas of focus – interactive fine art, tangible and hybrid media,
entertainment robotics, augmented reality, animation, games,
education/training, simulation.

Medialab-Prado Madrid

Medialab-Prado is a program of the Department of Arts of the City Council of Madrid, aimed at the production, research, and dissemination of digital culture and of the area where art, science, technology, and society intersect.

Many workshops for the production of projects, conferences, seminars, encounters, project exhibition, concerts, presentations, etc. take place in its versatile space. All activities are free and open to the general public.

Our primary objective is to create a structure where both research and production are processes permeable to user participation. To that end, Medialab-Prado offers a permanent information, reception, and meeting space attended by cultural mediators, andopen calls for the presentation of proposals and participation in the collaborative development of projects.

There are five ongoing lines of research at Medialab Prado, hosting regular activities and workshops:

Interactivos?: creative uses of electronics and programming

Inclusiva.net: research and reflections on the network culture

Visualizar: data visualization tools and strategies

Laboratorio del Procomún: trans-disciplinary discussion on the Common

AVLAB: audio-visual and sound creation

Page last updated on February 22, 2013 at 3:25 pm