蒋竹韵获得TASML / DSL 艺术家2011年冬季驻留奖


TASML 国际评委在众多参选作品中选出杭州艺术家蒋竹韵方案“钟摆计划” 作为TASML / DSL 艺术家2011年冬季驻留奖获奖人, 蒋竹韵将开始为期6周在位于蒙特利尔的Hexagram实验室的驻留计划

评委由以下人员组成:

Sylvain Levy, Founder, DSL Collection
Amanda Crowley, Executive Director of Eyebeam, Center for Art and Technology, New York
Prof. Christopher  Salter, Director of Hexagram Concordia, Principle Researcher of Xmodal Lab, Montreal
Prof. Jeffrey Huang, Director, LDM | Media and Design Lab, EPFL | Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne
Prof. Zhang Ga, Director, TASML (Tsinghua University / Parsons The New School for Design), Beijing / New York

 

PENDULUM/钟摆计划

蒋竹韵

研究动机:

在美剧 LOST 第5季第六集中, 在夫人的带领下,一行人来到了达摩组织为了寻找 「岛」 所建立的”灯塔站 Lamp Post”,揭开了人们是如何找到此岛的来由,在 Island 上的人为什么总得不到被营救的原因. 片中讲到: “A very clever fellow built this pendulum on the theoretical notion that they should stop looking for where the island was supposed to be and start looking for where it was going to be.” 通过钟摆(pendulum)一个看似规律性的物理运动, 能够去寻找定位一个看似随机移动却又有规律可寻的地理座标, 这是 pendulum 及其功能性给我的第一印象.

电视的虚构来自现实依据. 现实中的 pendulum 是一个非凡的物理运动并且有着丰富的美学意象: pendulum 是机械钟表(Pendulum clock)运作的动力来源, 成为时间座标行进的现实驱动力(timekeeping elements); 中国古代科学家张衡所制的地动仪核心原理正是 pendulum 运动, 使之成为了人类最早对于地震的观测可能,以及其他后来人们更具其原理所制的各种仪器发明, 其中 1851年 Foucault pendulum 最早证明了地球自转(Earth’s rotation), Jean Bernard Leon Foucault 将一个 pendulum 悬挂在穹顶任其摇摆, 相信 Lost 剧情受了他的启发, 通过 pendulum 装置对于地磁偏移的捕捉.

作为绘画出生的声音艺术实践者, 自然对其所产生的视觉图像,与声音的关系以及背后的历史意义有者浓厚的兴趣. 机械式谐波仪(Harmonograph),(被人称作是:Entertainment before there was electric power) 正是通过 pendulum 原理可绘几何曲线的绘图装置, 由其产生的二维曲线图案又能同时解释声音中的泛音,音程的比率. 个人以为这是一个声音与图像关系的科学交点,是一个对于乐音以及几何研究的最佳切入点. 为了深入了解 << HARMONOGRAPH: a visual guide to the mathematics of music >> by Anthony Ashton ,以及 << Li: Dynamic Form in Nature>> by David Wade 提供了到位的理论支持, 可作为研究的技术参考.

技术研究及方案实施:

  1. 自制机械装置谐波仪(Harmonography),通过感知元件,获得相对应的各部件的运动模式参数,例如摇摆,压力等输出给电脑, 转换成midi讯号, 控制音乐节拍,音符等. 以当今流行的AudioVisual 形式呈现装置与表演的互动关系.
  2. 对于谐波仪装置结构设计本身进行各种再造与改进.
  3. 对于图像产生介质进行数字化生成.例如 iPad 的触控,能够很好的改进替换原先人工刷新图案的模式.
  4. Processing 程序, 使得 Harmonograph 图像得到数字生成, 进一布研究其数学上的表达式.

 

观念内容呈现方案:

作品名称: << 地仪心动仪 >>

形式: 装置/表演

中国古代科学家张衡的地动仪在中国古代科技史上一直是一个悬案, 没有完善且科学的工程实施记录. 对其内部工作原理都有猜测.更有人认为现有的复原模型只是一个摆设,一个科学仪器反而成了无用的”艺术品”. 个人实践通过对于古代地动仪工作原理的种种进行猜测, 以Pendulum 原理作为猜测可行性的一种, 通过将技术考古与现有图像声音呈现的技术的结合可能, 瓦解对于其外部符号形象的别有用”心”.

研究理念:

将视觉装置功能乐器化,从单一装置个体出发,呈现方式多元化. 装置的视觉形式以声音表达,将声音的呈现结果视觉可视化. 同时在各个形式上都能铺开. 就像Harmonography一样每次启动的结果都能最终呈现唯一且独有图案.

.

JIANG Zhuyun Awarded second TASML / DSL Residence Artist Award


TASML is pleased to announce that JIANG Zhuyun has been awarded the second TASML/DSML Artist Residence Award.

An international jury has selected  JIANG Zhuyun from Hangzhou, among other candidates for his proposal “ THE PENDULUM PROJECT” as a resident artist to begin a 6 week-long program at Hexagram Concordia Institute for Research-Creation in Media Arts and Technology (Montreal) in the Winter of 2011.

The jury was comprised of the following:

Sylvain Levy, Founder, DSL Collection
Amanda Crowley, Executive Director of Eyebeam, Center for Art and Technology, New York
Prof. Christopher  Salter, Director of Hexagram Concordia, Principle Researcher of Xmodal Lab, Montreal
Prof. Jeffrey Huang, Director, LDM | Media and Design Lab, EPFL | Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne
Prof. Zhang Ga, Director, TASML (Tsinghua University / Parsons The New School for Design), Beijing / New York

 

THE PENDULUM PROJECT

Motive:

In Episode 6, Season 5 of the TV drama “Lost”, the entourage went to the Lamp Post at the Dharma Institute to seek the history of the Island and the reason why people can never be rescued from the Island. It is said that, “a very clever fellow built this pendulum on the theoretical notion that they should stop looking for where the Island was supposed to be and start looking for where it was going to be.” Through the seemingly regular physical movement of a pendulum, a geological coordinate that appears to be randomly shifting can actually be pinpointed. That is my first impression of the pendulum and its properties.

This fiction on TV came out of facts in reality. The pendulum in reality behaves with unusual physical movements and embodies rich aesthetic imagery. It powers the mechanical pendulum clock and becomes the physical timekeeping element in a time coordinate. At the core of the earthquake instrument “Didong Yi” (earth movement instrument) invented by the ancient Chinese scientist Zhang Heng was exactly the pendulum theory, and it enabled this device to become the earliest form of earthquake observation, as well as powering other devices invented later. The Foucault pendulum of 1851 was the first to prove the Earth’s rotation. Jean Bernard Leon Foucault suspended a pendulum from the roof and allowed it free swing. I think the plot of “Lost” TV drama was inspired by him and they thought of capturing the shifting of the Earth’s magnetic field with a pendulum device.

As a sound artist with a background training in painting, it is only natural that I am deeply intrigued by the relationship between images and sound and their historical context. Harmonograph, which has been called “entertainment before there was electric power”, is a graphic device that outputs geometric curves using the principles of the pendulum, and these two-dimensional graphics can also explain the acoustic phenomena of harmonics and the ratio between intervals. I personally believe that this is an excellent point of entry for studying the relationship between images and sound. For further study, HARMONOGRAPH: A Visual Guide to the Mathematics of Music by Anthony Ashton, and Li: Dynamic Form in Nature by David Wade will serve as expert theoretical support and technical reference.

Technical Research and Project Realization:

  1.  A self-made harmonograph installation. Through the use of sensors, movement parameters (such as pressure, distance, etc.) are obtained and output as MIDI signal to the computer, which further controls the rhythm and notes of the sound result. The installation and the interactive controlling will be presented as an audio-visual work.
  2.  Various renovations and improvements on the structure and design of the harmonograph will be conducted.
  3.  The interface of the image production will be digitally manipulated. For example, the touch-sensitive iPad can provide good improvement over the previous manual image refreshing method.
  4.  The graphic output of the harmonograph will be done with the Processing programming language and mathematical ways of visual presentation will be studied.

 

TITLE OF WORK: Earth Movement, Mind Movement Instrument

FORMAT: Installation with interactive performance

The Earth Movement Instrument invented by the ancient Chinese scientist Zhang Heng has always been an unresolved case in the history of Chinese science. There were no complete documentation on its actual construction, and various hypotheses on its inner workings have been proposed. People even think the current reconstructed model is only a decorative piece, that a scientific instrument has become a useless “work of art.” I would like to propose various speculations on the ancient Earth Movement Instrument, with the pendulum as one of the main possibilities. A combination of technical archaeology and audio-visual presentation may thus destroy these doubts regarding the instrument as a sign in people’s “mind.”

Research Principles:

To transform the visual installation into a musical instrument. Multiple forms of output will be generated from a single physical device, and can be expanded on various dimensions, just as the harmonograph, which results in a unique visual presentation every time it is activated.