第二期TASML / DSL 艺术家驻留奖方案征集


第二期TASML / DSL 艺术家驻留奖方案征集

TASML / DSL 艺术家驻留奖是TAAML 与著名当代中国艺术收藏机构“DSL收藏” 合作推出的奖项。本奖项旨在为新兴中国媒体艺术家提供独特的机会,进入若干国际上极具创新力的媒体艺术及设计实验室, 从事在艺术及科技交叉学科间的前沿性研究和创作。自2011年3月至2013年2月, 每年将通过项目公开选拔向2位中国艺术家颁发该奖。得奖人将获得4000美元/26500人民币的奖金用以旅费,住宿及生活开支。该奖将由一个国际评委根据研究提案的优异选出。

TASML-HEXAGRAM CONCORDIA

TASML与加拿大蒙特利尔Concordia大学的Hexagram媒体艺术与科学研究中心和LabXmodal实验室合作,推出第二期TASML / DSL 艺术家驻留奖并于即日起征集艺术家方案。TASML艺术家驻留计划为中国媒体艺术家进入在一些国际上最具创新性的媒体艺术及设计实验室,并从事艺术和科学技术的交叉学科间的前沿性的研究和创作,提供了一个独特的机会。

Hexagram是加拿大最大的艺术与设计新媒体研究中心,是国际公认的新媒体艺术,设计,互动表现和技术的跨学科实验的加拿大基地。位于新建的工程和艺术学院大楼内,研究中心拥有两层楼的实验室和设备,及一个占地很大的黑匣子研究空间。该中心的实验室支持以下等领域的研究和创作,如高端音频/视频,交互式穿戴技术,数控加工,速建原型和3-D打印,数码摄影和图像处理,动画和数字游戏和其他研究活动等。除了基础设施外,另有60多名研究人员和数百名横跨三个大学的研究生的支持,Hexagram还拥有由研究员带头领导科研项目的相当数量的工作室。

LabXmodal实验室是Hexagram研究中心的十个所属实验室之一,由Hexagram研究中心主任,艺术家,研究员,作家,Chris Salter教授创立。相对于静态物体和表现, Xmodal更致力于研究,开发和创造行为表现的环境, 把焦点集中到在物理空间中动态和时间性的过程。他们将新研究和开发的传感硬件和软件技术,运用于单项及合作式的,得以在国际间展出的艺术作品中,并通过世界范围的技术兼理论/历史的论文发表,讲座及公开表演形式对现行的实践做批判性的反思。

此艺术家驻留方案征集面向于对音频/视觉感知和互动,及传感器系统有兴趣的中青年视觉/媒体艺术家 。通过5-6周的驻留经历,扩展和探索其现有的创作视野。在驻留期间,被评选上的艺术家将把重点放在发展项目的概念构思,并且直接与LabXmodal实验室的艺术家和研究人员在2011年11月和12月间实施的两个大规模装置项目合作。驻留计划预计从11月8日开始,至2011年12月18日结束。成功的申请人将有机会通过Hexagram基础设施及与Xmodal的合作,在驻留期间把研究概念和构思开发成为基本原型。蒙特利尔是北美最具活力的城市之一,而Hexagram的融入使其成为加拿大最大的媒体艺术研究中心之一。艺术家将在驻留即将结束之前将其研究的概念,构思,或成果,通过公开讲座展现给大家。

有关TASML | DSL 艺术家驻留奖, 请参阅 http://tasml.org/?page_id=676&lang=zh

申请人应提交一份详细的研究计划书,并对此驻留计划如何对其现有的实践有更大的发展和帮助做一个说明。良好的英语口语是此驻留奖的必要要求。
关于Hexagram的基础设施和设备的详细信息,请参阅http://hexagram.concordia.ca

需要了解更多有关LabXmodal的信息,请参阅http://xmodal.hexagram.ca/  或    chrissalter.com

方案征集日期: 2011年9月27日- 2011年10月13日

获奖颁布:2011年10月20日

方案征集请投递: w.song@tascii.org

方案征集要求:

方案说明(英文)

个人履历(英文)

图片/视频 资料

Second TASML / DSL Artist Residence Award Open Call


TASML / DSL Artist Residence Award Call for Proposals

With the support of DSL Collection, the renowned art collection specialized in contemporary Chinese art, the award is conceived to provide emerging Chinese media artists with an unique opportunity to engage with cutting edge research and production in the intersection of art, science and technology in some of the most innovative media art and design laboratory from around the world. From March of 2011 till February of 2013, two artists will be selected annually.  The awardees will receive a $4000 (RMB 26500) stipend to compensate for travel, accommodation and living expenses in the residence country. An international jury will decide the winners of the award based on the merits of the proposed projects.

TASML-HEXAGRAM CONCORDIA
CALL FOR RESEARCH RESIDENCY PROPOSALS

In collaboration with the Hexagram Institute for Research-Creation in Media Art and Technology and LabXmodal at Concordia University in Montreal, Canada, TASML is announcing a call for artist in residency research proposals. The TASML research residency provides a unique opportunity to engage with cutting edge research and production in the intersection of art, science and technology in some of the most innovative media art and design laboratory from around the world.

The Hexagram Institute is the largest arts and design-based new media lab in Canada and is recognized internationally as the Canadian pole for interdisciplinary research in new media art, design, and interactive performance and technologies. Housed in the new Engineering and Visual Arts building, Hexagram-Concordia has two floors of labs and equipment as well as a large black box research space. The labs support research and creation in areas such as advanced audio/video, interactive textiles, CNC machining, rapid prototyping and 3-D printing, digital photography and image processing, animation and digital games and other research activities. In addition to the infrastructure which supports over 60 researchers and hundreds of graduate students across three faculties, Hexagram also houses a number of researcher-driven studio-labs.

LabXmodal is a studio-lab founded by artist, researcher, writer, professor and Hexagram Concordia Director Chris Salter which is one of ten satellite Hexagram labs. Xmodal is dedicated to the research, development, and creation of performative environments – physical spaces with a focus on dynamic and temporal processes over static objects and representations. We research and develop new hardware and software sensing technologies, apply these tools and techniques in solo + collaborative, internationally disseminated artistic works and critically reflect on these practices through technical and theoretical/historical publications, talks and public presentations world wide.

The call for proposals targets emerging or early mid career visual/media artists with an interest in audio/visual perception and interactive, sensor systems who have an interest in expanding their existing practices by working within the Hexagram infrastructure through a 5-6 week exploratory residency. During the residency, the selected artist is expected to focus on the development of a project concept sketch as well as directly collaborate with artists and researchers in the LabXmodal environment on two current large scale installation projects in development during November and December 2011. The residency will run between November 8-December 18, 2011. The successful candidate will be given the opportunity to develop the research concept, sketches and/or a basic prototype by having access to the Hexagram infrastructure as well as be able to collaborate with Xmodal during the residency period. Montreal is one of the most vibrant cities in North America and the Hexagram environment offers the opportunity to integrate into one of the largest media art research centers in Canada. The artist will also be expected to present the concept sketch or results of the residency in a public talk at the end of the residency period.

For information about TASML | DSL Artist Residence Award, please see http://tasml.org/?page_id=676

Candidates should submit a detailed proposal of research interests as well as a statement on how the residency will help in expanding their existing practice. Good spoken english is a mandatory requirement for the residency.
For more information about Hexagram’s infrastructure and equipment, see http://hexagram.concordia.ca.
For more information about LabXmodal, see http://xmodal.hexagram.ca/ or chrissalter.com