“天气隧道”亮相中国美术馆


“天气隧道”亮相“延展生命”艺术展

由TASML启动并组织,建筑师马岩松设计的“天气隧道”于2011年7月26日在中国美术馆举办的“延展生命”艺术展上参展,展览吸引了社会各界广泛关注。

纽约时报评论文章对“天气隧道”介绍:“’时空之间的关系,或我们对时空的认知改变了。’ 张尕说道,’当我们谈及时间时,指的是多重的时间。空间距离因为网络的存在而消失了。’

“此观点由 “天气隧道”的装置显而易见。 该装置安放在美术馆外的广场上。这个迷人的白色隧道由建筑师马岩松设计,联合中国、美国、欧洲、澳大利亚等多所艺术院校的艺术家共同创作完成,并且动用了从世界各地采集的实时气候数据。(数据由专门定制的传感器传输,这些传感器是帕森斯设计学院的副教授Joe Saavedra为一个叫“公民传感器”的项目而发明的。)

正值北京盛夏,隧道里炎热难耐的游客可以通过“太阳风潜望镜”(Jonas Hansen和Lasse Scherffig创作)看到视觉化的地球大气之外的气象状况,这些气象信息由无线电信号传送。如果按下一个叫做“气象音变”的手提箱式的装置(Joel Louie、Jan L. Andruszkiewicz、Bryan J. Mather、Kevin Raxworthy、Julian Stadon和Paul Thomas创作)上的按钮,全球各大城市的天气情况能以跨越感官的听觉化形式被人们听到。还有“机电电磁乐团与天气合奏曲”装置(Benjamin Bacon和Joe Saavedra创作),能够根据传感器传输的天气数据,实时创作并演奏奇异的音乐供游客聆听。”

“Weather Tunnel” a highlight at Translife


Initiated and organized by TASML and designed by Ma Yansong, “Weather Tunnel” since its unavailing on July 26 2011, has been an attraction of the Translife exhibition at NAMOC. New York Times’ review of Translife opens the article by introducing the “Weather Tunnel“:

” ‘The time-space relationship is changed, or our perception of it,’ Mr. Zhang said. ‘When we talk about time, it is multiple times now. Distance has disappeared because of the network.’

This point is made at the outset by the “Weather Tunnel” installation that stands in the museum’s courtyard. Designed by the architect Ma Yansong, the shimmering white tunnel contains weather-themed works by young artists from universities in China, the United States, Europe and Australia that draw on the same, real-time climatic data from around the globe. (Data is transmitted by custom-made sensors based on those created by Joe Saavedra, an adjunct professor at Parsons, for a project called Citizen Sensor.)

Inside the tunnel, which was uncomfortably hot in Beijing’s blistering summer, a visitor can look through a “Solar Wind Periscope” (Jonas Hansen and Lasse Scherffig) at a visualization of extraterrestrial weather conditions based on information conveyed by radio signals; press a button on the “Weather Inflections” suitcase (Joel Louie, Jan L. Andruszkiewicz, Bryan J. Mather, Kevin Raxworthy, Julian Stadon and Paul Thomas) to hear a sensory-crossing sonification of weather conditions in various global cities; and even listen to an “Electromechanical Solenoid Orchestra & Weather Ensemble” (Benjamin Bacon and Joe Saavedra) that plays surprisingly music composed in real time based on data from the sensors.”

Translife : Media Art China 2011, International Triennial of New Media Art is curated by TASML director, Prof. Zhang Ga.