吴珏辉获得TASML | Carroll Fletcher 艺术家 Eyebeam 驻留奖


TASML 国际评委在极具竞争的参选作品中选出艺术家吴珏辉“鸟嘴计划” 作为 TASML | Carroll Fletcher 艺术家 Eyebeam 驻留奖获奖人。吴珏珲将于2013年末-2014年春季实施为期4-6周在位于纽约切尔西的Eyebeam驻留计划。

评委由以下人员组成:

Jonathon Carroll,  Carroll / Fletcher,  画廊主 , 本奖项赞助者 (http://www.carrollfletcher.com)

Michael Joaquin Grey,媒体艺术家 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michael_Joaquin_Grey)

Marnix de Nijs, 媒体艺术家  (http://www.marnixdenijs.nl)

Marko Tandefelt, Eyebeam 技术及研究主管

张尕,TASML 主任

 

项目主题: 鸟嘴计划

吴珏辉

鸟嘴计划意在改造我们的感知系统。通过对人类表达方式的改造,重新定义我们的交流模式。当我们不再以习惯的方式进行日常沟通时,传递信号的失真或异常势必会扭曲我们的表达。比如,声调与身份的脱节会混淆我们对其身份的辨识,并由此带来陌生感和幽默感。

对人类而言,发声系统向来是重要的表达工具。一旦它的功能被重设,可能会使得简单的日常表达都变得离奇而不可琢磨。鸟嘴计划由此展开各种可能的猜想并付诸实践。鸟嘴将实时处理发出的声音,将其转换声调,比如让中年男人发出女童般的声音,让青年发出老妇女般的声音。声音的改变将可能引发各种错位的身份关系,打破生活的惯性。

艺术家简介

吴珏辉,1980年出生于杭州,是中国新媒体艺术的先锋人物之一。近年来,他着力探索艺术与科学、身体与媒体之间的”潜在接口”,专注于通过感官游戏来架设作品的互动机制,多以体验装置的形式于外在世界和内在感知之间建立“感官接口”。吴珏辉与清华大学神经工程实验室、瑞士联邦理工学院、杭州电子科技大学图形图像研究所等研究机构展开密切合作,活跃于互动艺术和新媒体表演艺术等领域。从2009年开始,与清华大学神经工程实验室合作,进行一项基于脑机接口(Brain-Computer Interface)的长期艺术项目——脑电站 (Brain Station)。同时,吴珏辉曾多次参加全国性及国际性的新媒体艺术展和艺术节,如“ZERO1双年展”、“延展生命-国际新媒体艺术三年展”、“合成时代-媒体中国2008”、”创想计划2012”、“SHIFT电子艺术节”等。

2010年,吴珏辉和邵鼎发起“肉媒体 / MeatMedia”艺术团体, 同时又是“UFO媒体实验室”——中国领先的新媒体团队的联合创始人,致力于新媒体艺术的社会化创新。

wwww.io

ufo.io

WU Juehui awarded TASML | Carroll Fletcher Residency @Eyebeam


TASML is pleased to announce that WU Juehui has been awarded the TASML | Carroll Fletcher Artist Residence Award.

An international jury has selected  WU Juehui, among a competitive pool of  candidates, for his proposal “Beak Proejct” as the resident artist to begin a 4 -6  week-long exploratory research program at Eyebeam | Center for Art and Technology in New York City  between  Winter of  2013 and Spring of 2014.

The jury was comprised of the following:

Jonathon Carroll,  Carroll / Fletcher Gallery,  Founder and Director, Sponsor of the “TASML | Carroll Fletcher Residency Award”  (http://www.carrollfletcher.com)

Michael Joaquin Grey,Media Artist (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michael_Joaquin_Grey)

Marnix de Nijs, Media Artist (http://www.marnixdenijs.nl)

Marko Tandefelt, Director, Technology and Research, Eyebeam

ZHANG Ga,Director, TASML

 

Project Overview

Beak Project

WU Juehui

The “Beak Project” aims to transform our perceptual system.  By reconfiguring ways of expression, the project redefines our communication mode. 当我们不再以习惯的方式进行日常沟通时,传递信号的失真或异常势必会扭曲我们的表达。比如,声调与身份的脱节会混淆我们对其身份的辨识,并由此带来陌生感和幽默感。When we communicate beside the accepted norm, extraordinary changes and distortion of signals will distort the information that these signals are made to carry. For example, mismatch between the tonality and the identity of a certain person will confuse us in identifying him or her, thus brings about a feeling of strangeness and a sense of humor.

For human-beings , the voice system has always been an important means of expression. Once the system is reset, even a simple daily expression may become bizarre and confusing. Based on this effect, “Beak Project” starts to imagine about various possibilities and set them in action. The Beaks process the voice in real-time, transforms its tone, such as to turn the voice of a middle-aged man into that of a girl, or the voice of a youngster into that of an aged woman. The mismatch between identities, which is caused by the changes in voice, may transgress the way of life we are habituated to.

 Artist Bio 

WU Juehui was born in 1980 in Hangzhou. In recent years, he works on the “potential interface” between art and science, between body and media in collaboration with laboratories and institutes such as Laboratory of Neural Engineering of Tsinghua University, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Institute of Graphics and Image of Hangzhou Dianzi University. In 2009, Wu Juehui started the long-term art project “Brain Station” which was based on BCI (Brain-Computer Interface) technology. WU has participated in many national and international media art exhibitions and festivals, among them  “ZERO1 Biennial”,” Translife – International Triennial of New Media Art”,“Synthetic Times – Media Art China 2008″, “Creators Project 2012”, “SHIFT- Electronic Arts Festival”.

In 2010, WU Juehui and SHAO Ding founded the art group “MeatMedia”, focusing on the “Emotional Interface” in an attempt to find a balance between the“Dry media”and the“Wet media”. WU Juehui is also a co-founder of “UFO media lab” – the leading new media artist collective in China that focuses on the social application of new media art and design.

wwww.io

ufo.io